Observations by Scholars & Biographers

The Board of Trustees committee reviewing the legacy of Woodrow Wilson at Princeton invited scholars and biographers with relevant expertise to share their understandings of Wilson and his legacy.  Their submissions are posted below. (Each link downloads a PDF file of that author's submission.)

PDF iconwilsonlegacy_axtell.pdf (22.9 MB), Kenan Professor of Humanities Emeritus, College of William & Mary, and author of The Making of Princeton University: From Woodrow Wilson to the Present (2006) and editor of The Educational Legacy of Woodrow Wilson: From College to Nation (2012).

PDF iconwilsonlegacy_clements.pdf (60.09 KB), Distinguished Professor of History Emeritus, University of South Carolina, and author of Woodrow Wilson in the American Presidents Reference Series (2003), The Presidency of Woodrow Wilson (1992), and Woodrow Wilson, World Statesman (1987).

PDF iconwilsonlegacy-connolly.pdf (118.12 KB), Herbert Baxter Adams Associate Professor of History, Johns Hopkins University, and Visiting Associate Professor of History and Social and Cultural Analysis, New York University.

PDF iconwilsonlegacy_cooper.pdf (30.34 KB) ’61, E. Gordon Fox Professor of American Institutions Emeritus, University of Wisconsin, and author of Woodrow Wilson: A Biography (2009) and The Warrior and the Priest: Woodrow Wilson and Theodore Roosevelt (1983).

PDF iconPaula J. Giddings, Elizabeth A. Woodson 1922 Professor, Afro-American Studies Department, Smith College.

PDF iconDavid M. Kennedy, Donald J. McClachlan Professor of History Emeritus, Stanford University.

PDF iconThomas J. Knock *82, Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor, Clements Department of History, Southern Methodist University, and author of To End All Wars: Woodrow Wilson and the Quest for a New World Order (1992).

PDF iconAdriane Lentz-Smith, Associate Professor of History, African & African-American Studies, and Women’s Studies, Duke University.

PDF iconEric S. Yellin *07, Professor of History and American Studies, University of Richmond, and author of Racism in the Nation’s Service: Government Workers and the Color Line in Woodrow Wilson’s America (2013).